James P. Conway Mentor of the Year Award

The James P. Conway Mentor of the Year Award recognizes an exemplary individual whose commitment to improving the art and science of the charitable gift planning process helped others reach their philanthropic goals. All members of the Northern Ohio Charitable Gift Planners are eligible to submit nominations.

The Award is named in honor of James P. Conway (1923-2010), a gift planner of local and national prominence who served as a mentor, teacher, and friend to many of us in the planned giving field. He was truly a ‘pioneer’ of the profession. Jim was well-known for sharing his expertise with anyone who asked. The James P. Conway Mentor of the Year Award honors his tradition of serving others in the profession by recognizing those who consistently follow Jim’s philosophy of assisting colleagues, organizations and philanthropists achieve their goals.

The Conway Award is presented at the opening session at NOCGP’s Annual Planned Giving Day.

Nominate Someone Today!


Past Recipients

2023 - Maureen Katanic
2022 - Michael Walczak
2021 - Bradley Schlang, CFP
2020 - Diane Strachan, CFRE
2019 - Donald Laubacher, CFP®, CPA, AEP®
2018 - Charles M. Miller, JD, AEP®
2016 - Nelson J. Wittenmyer, Jr., J.D., L.L.M

2015 - John F. Shelley, Esq.
2014 - Nancy Hancock Griffith
2013 - James R. Hickey, CFRE, CAP
2012 - Alan D. Gross
2011 - Sherri L. Bishop
2010 - Thomas H. Konkoly